I have been taking the Love Dare journey for 17 days now and I am almost half way finished. I decided now would be a good time to start logging some thoughts and reflections for not only myself, but for me to share with my spouse, Rachel, when the time is right. Here are highlights of my journey so far and I will continue to update daily.

I love my wife now more than I can remember. I am falling in love all over again. The first day was so simple, yet so powerful. I was to not mention anything negative to my spouse. Not only did I feel obligated to be respectful and not say negative things, but I tried to eliminate negative thoughts and even tried to abstain from using words or phrases that might be construed as negative. I love this and have continued this dare since I’ve started.

“When you choose to be patient, you respond in a positive way to a negative situation.”

“It is a choice to control emotions rather than allowing emotions to control you.”

On one day, I made a cd for Rachel and thought to place it in the car on her ride to work. I loved making the cd and it was a dare to be thoughtful. I believe she continues to listen to it so I hope she enjoyed it. 

Love is not determined by the one being loved, but rather by the one choosing to love!

I love my wife. I had an amazing time in San Diego with Rachel and Haylee. We enjoyed intimate moments and wonderful family times. I didn’t want to leave that place and it ended way too soon. I melted when Rachel laid her head on my chest. It was a feeling that has been void for some time now. The image and feeling is still fresh to me.

Lastly, I’m looking forward to my date night tomorrow with Rachel to just enjoy her company. I never thought something could reinvigorate me the way this dare has and I love every second of choosing to love my wife without expecting anything in return. I look forward to every moment shared with her and all the time I spend with our wonderful daughter 

Now that we’re caught up, to be continued…

